Prof. Dr. Christine Bessenrodt (1958-2022)

The Institute of Algebra, Number Theory and Discrete Mathematics mourns the death of Prof. Dr. Christine Bessenrodt, who passed away on January 24, 2022 at the age of 63 after a serious illness.

Since 2002 she held the chair of Algebra and Number Theory at our university. She shaped the institute as executive director for 15 years until now. From 2013 to 2015, she was the Dean of Studies of our faculty. In her lectures and seminars, as well as in final theses, she supervised numerous students with great dedication.

She published over 100 scientific papers on an unusually broad range of topics. In particular, she was a leading figure in the representation theory of symmetric and alternating groups and their covering groups, where she masterfully combined methods from character theory and algebraic combinatorics to obtain profound results.

We lose in her a renowned and dedicated scientist and academic teacher, and a much appreciated colleague. We wish her family the necessary strength in these difficult days.

[Colloquium and conference in memory of Christine Bessenrodt (8/9 July 2022)]

The IAZD is part of the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics at Leibniz Universität Hannover and represents the areas algebra, algebraic combinatorics, representation theory, discrete mathematics, group theory and number theory in research and teaching.

Prof. Dr. Christine Bessenrodt (1958-2022)

Das Institut für Algebra, Zahlentheorie und Diskrete Mathematik trauert um Frau Prof. Dr. Christine Bessenrodt, die am 24. Januar 2022 nach schwerer Krankheit im Alter von 63 Jahren verstarb.

2002 übernahm sie den Lehrstuhl für Algebra und Zahlentheorie an unserer Universität. Das Institut prägte sie als Geschäftsführende Leiterin über 15 Jahre bis zuletzt. Von 2013 bis 2015 war sie Studiendekanin unserer Fakultät. In ihren Vorlesungen und Seminaren sowie bis zuletzt in Abschlussarbeiten betreute sie zahlreiche Studierende mit großem Engagement.

Sie veröffentlichte über 100 wissenschaftliche Arbeiten zu einem ungewöhnlich breiten Themenspektrum. Insbesondere war sie eine führende Persönlichkeit auf dem Gebiet der Darstellungstheorie der symmetrischen und alternierenden Gruppen und deren Überlagerungsgruppen, wo sie in besonderer Weise Methoden aus der Charaktertheorie und algebraischen Kombinatorik verband, um tiefgreifende Ergebnisse zu erzielen.

Wir verlieren mit ihr eine renommierte und engagierte Wissenschaftlerin und akademische Lehrerin und eine sehr geschätzte Kollegin. Ihren Angehörigen wünschen wir die notwendige Kraft in diesen schweren Tagen.

[Gedenkkolloquium für Christine Bessenrodt (8./9. Juli 2022)]

Das IAZD ist Teil der Fakultät für Mathematik und Physik der Leibniz Universität Hannover und vertritt in Forschung und Lehre die Fachgebiete Algebra, Algebraische Kombinatorik, Darstellungstheorie, Diskrete Mathematik, Gruppentheorie und Zahlentheorie.